Is Google Harming Our Cognitive Ability?

I have been noticing the same feeling that Carr brings up in my life. Although I am not the reading type and have never been one to sit and read a whole book or find long articles to analyze, I have found myself struggling to focus on one thing for a long time. When I make a decision on what to do with my time I find myself second guessing what would be a better use of that time and I find myself going from my favorite video game to Facebook and then I go find a book to read, just to put it down in another 10 minutes. The fact that I’ve gotten used to having a minimum of 3 tabs open on my browser has made my brain struggle with the idea of doing one thing at a time. I should be able to have Facebook open on one tab with another tab watching a video or TV show all while typing up my blog post for the week. I feel as if I need to pull myself in multiple directions.

Carr made the point of spending minimal time on each page or article you look at. When I find myself browsing the internet I tend to avoid the long articles that require me to spend 20 minutes reading. I tend to gravitate toward the post with a lot of pictures that I can mindlessly scan. Carr is asking the if Google is making us stupid, but I feel like that is a difficult question to answer with our current information. I can see the argument that Google is making our ability to analyze long articles to be a possible argument to defend but too say it is making us stupid is not as simple of a declaration.

Leave a comment